Virat Kohli, Smriti Mandhana Named Wisden Leading Cricketers of the YearCricket

April 10, 2019 12:38
Virat Kohli, Smriti Mandhana Named Wisden Leading Cricketers of the Year

The 2019 edition of Wisden Cricketers' Almanack named Indian cricket captain Virat Kohli and women’s cricketer Smriti Mandhana as the Leading Cricketers in the World on Tuesday.

Kohli has won the honor for an unprecedented third year in a row while Smriti has won the honor for the first time. Afghanistan spinner Rashid Khan was named the Leading T20 cricketer for the second year in a row.

Kohli was also named as one of Wisden's Five Cricketers of the Year alongside English cricketers Jos Buttler, Sam Curran, Rory Burns, and Tammy Beaumont.

Buttler and Curran starred in England's series win over Australia and India in 2018. Rory Burns meanwhile led Surrey to the English Championship while Tammy Beaumont excelled for the English Women's cricket team.

Wisden has been awarding cricketers since 1889 and it is considered one of the most prestigious honors in the sport. Kohli scored 2,735 runs across the three formats in 2018 while Smriti scored 669 and 682 runs in One Days Innings (ODIs) and T20s respectively. The left-hander also excelled in the Women's Super League scoring 421 runs at a strike rate of 174.68. She also scored a T20 century during this run.

-Sangam Sowmya


If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)
Tagged Under :
sports  cricket  virat kohli